Camp isn’t camp, without a care package!

In the UK, Summer Camp isn’t as big a thing as it is in other places. Sure, as a kid, I attended camps with Girl Guides or with school; but it was only ever for a few days, a week at most. My own kids have had a similar experience; school, Brownies & Guides or BB, and the odd family camping expedition.

The idea of spending weeks off away from the rest of the family? I’m not too sure about that! Sure I’d have enjoyed all the activities & camaraderie but I think I’d have missed sharing those experiences WITH my family.

My own two are 16 & (almost) 20 and we still all enjoy family adventures.

I guess that’s why the idea of IGGPPCAMP appealed to me! A weeklong adventure; building blanket forts, telling ghost stories, making new friends, toasting marshmallows, trying new things.. plus I get to share it with my equally geeky household! (Teen 2 is also registered but he’s in a different Troop, so I am envisioning ALL sorts of shenanigans!)

wpid-wp-1439505648684.jpeg

Now, according to those in the know, these extended summer camps that we haven’t experienced, involve one very important thing: CARE PACKAGES!
I do actually have some experience of sending these as when Teen1 spent 1st year living on campus at University, I would post her a little goody bag every Thursday. She’d go to collect her mail after class on Friday morning and look for a bag or box all covered in stickers and full of little things like stationery, sweets, recipes, vouchers, postage stamps etc She did get flustered one time when the young guy who worked in the accommodation office asked her what was in these packages – I don’t think she wanted to mention there was usually a new pair of unmentionables, so she could stave off the dreaded laundry run for another day!!

Anyway, back to IGGLE Camp; one of the activities in preparation of camp was a Camp Care Package Swap. We all filled out a detailed form about what we were looking forward to ‘at’ camp and information about our likes; favourite snacks/activities/ colours etc.

We were then assigned someone who we would make up and secretly send a care package too.

It was a HUGE amount of fun! (So much so, I did it twice … more about that later)

Sending Out

My assigned camper was KamalaGeek, A.K.A. Nadine from Germany.

She actually shares quite a few similar likes with myself, so her package was quite straightforward to put together.

I tried to make the parcel kinda exciting on the outside too...

I tried to make the parcel kinda exciting on the outside too…

One of the first things I decided to put in was a personal piece of campsite. After I received these samples, I discovered they were a perfect postcard size and thought they would be fun to send to some of my Postpals kids, THEN I realized they would be perfect for camp swaps ๐Ÿ˜€

wpid-img_20150801_241903934.jpg

I also thought everyone needed a camp notebook. Ya know, for lists and things... ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

I also thought everyone needed a camp notebook.
Ya know, for lists and things… ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

A personalised notebook to write down those all-important camp details.

A personalised notebook to write down those all-important camp details.

A mini sharpie is useful for marking your name on your belongings. I've packed enough camp bags to know : you label EVERYTHING!

A mini sharpie is useful for marking your name on your belongings. I’ve packed enough camp bags to know : you label EVERYTHING!

A tunnock’s teacake poncho seemed like a useful addition for showery campfire sessions, and a post-camp clean-up kit allows for a little pampering.

I tried to include a variety of fun stuff

I tried to include a variety of fun stuff

To keep my camper busy, I included:

  • Camp themed stickers
  • Whoopee cushion
  • Loom band kit
  • Yoyo
  • Dr Who model kit
  • Camp themed rub-on embellishments
  • Some cute jewellery
Camp Snack Pack

Camp Snack Pack

I included some tea, biscuits, chip flavour shaker, sweets and some BBQ recipe cards.

This was a really fun package to put together and I’m glad to report that Nadine was pleased with it.

Incoming!!

I received MY care package from UK Iggle, Jo. She chose such perfect things for me!

IMG_20150813_205912

I love the camp notebook, it’s so cute! The sweet little decorated gel pens and lucky cat erasers are fab, and I can’t wait to settle down, in our blanket fort, with my colouring supplies.

Isn't this little foxy keyring adorable? Plus, after all the rest of camp has been packed away until next year, I can still use this every day and remember how awesome camp was!

Isn’t this little foxy keyring adorable?
Plus, after all the rest of camp has been packed away until next year, I can still use this every day and remember how awesome camp was!

Tasty (& posh!) Camp Snacks!

Tasty (& posh!) Camp Snacks!

I later learned that this was Jo’s first swap package. She did an amazing job, don’t you think?

Sending Again

Oh, yeah. I mentioned doing it twice, didn’t I? It turned out someone was going to be let down after their sender dropped out, so after a bit of juggling, the swap organiser assigned me an extra camper to send a package to.

BlueLulu also stays in the UK, so it was pretty straightforward for me to make up a box of goodies & get it in the mail to her before camp.

image

The first things I put in BlueLulu’s care package were; her own personal bit of campsite, a personalised camp notebook with pen and a snuggly camp blanket.

image

Next was a Camp Snacks bag

Fun stuff to do came next. I found a cute origami insects kit that I thought was suitably camp-y. Some beads, stickers, a loom band kit, colouring sheets & pens, a yoyo & chalks for playing hopscotch or marking arrows for tracking made up the rest of her 'keeping busy' kit.

Fun stuff to do came next.
I found a cute origami insects kit that I thought was suitably camp-y. Some beads, stickers, a loom band kit, colouring sheets & pens, a yoyo & chalks for playing hopscotch or marking arrows for tracking made up the rest of her ‘keeping busy’ kit.

image

I also sneaked a sock cake into the box.

Finally, I included some clean-up items. Afterall, no-one wants to be the pongy bunk mate ;-)

Finally, I included some clean-up items.
Afterall, no-one wants to be the pongy bunk mate ๐Ÿ˜‰

Oh, I almost forgot! There was one last thing:

IMG_20150812_121840114

I couldn’t resist prepping one of these and rolling it up in BlueLulu’s soft cosy snuggly camp blanket. I hope she can forgive me…

Have you ever sent a Camp Care Package? What did you include? What would you like to receive in one? Please share in the comments…

Leave a Reply

