Pinterest Fail? Perhaps….

We’ve ALL done it.

We see an idea floating around the interwebs, and eventually, we give in and try it.

We know it probably won’t work, but we go ahead anyway….

image

These Sharpie Mugs were mine.

Now, let’s be clear; I KNOW there are perfectly good ceramic paint pens out there (confession: there are probably perfectly good ceramic pens IN HERE too, I probably have some kicking around my craft avalanche corner but that’s not really the point now is it??)

So, the theory is that you can draw on a mug with Sharpie, oven bake it, then it should be perfectly usable and will survive (gentle) hand washing.

The theme for PostPals January’s Monthly Project was Nighttime and Nocturnal Animals, and as I was including midnight feast kits featuring some of my Hot Chocolate Stirrers and sweets; a personalised mug seemed like the perfect addition.

The first thing I did was buy some plain white mugs.
The theory is that the cheaper the mug, the thinner the glaze, and the better it will allow the ink to ‘melt’ into it.

Then I found a selection of fonts that matched some of the kids likes (I have my glamorous assistant to thanks for this)

image

image

Next I used the old “scribble on the back with a pencil” trick to transfer the design onto the mug.

image

I held the template on with a little bit of washi

image

And traced the outline

image

Then I went over it with Sharpie, before solidly filling it in.

image

Just in case you didn’t know, Alfie likes Harry Potter.

image

Zech is a Doctor Who fan, whilst Kaleb likes Spongebob.

image

And Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles appeal to Freddie.

I set the mugs aside to dry for 24 hours before baking.

Next day, I baked them to heat-set my designs.
This was one of the parts I wasn’t too sure about as I had read conflicting advice.

The consensus seems to be:
Put mugs in a cold oven
Turn on the oven & allow to come up to temperature
Bake for the allotted time before turning off the oven and allowing the mug(s) to cool slowly

So this is what I did!

I baked them at 180°C for 45 minutes.

and kept my fingers crossed that the ink wouldn’t do the weird colour change thing I had read could happen.

I was reasonably happy with how the plain black one turned out and figured that after a 2nd coat and re-bake, it would be great.

The colours looked pretty faded on the TMNT-inspired one, but there was only a slight change in the colours of the eyemasks so, again, i was pretty confident with how a 2nd coat would turn out.

I was less impressed with the Spongebob one as the colours came out looking a bit muddy. I managed to patch it up and whilst not completely satisfied, I didn’t feel it was too horrendous to send!

The biggest disappointment was with what started off as the perfect TARDIS blue.

image

I knew another coat wouldn’t fix this so I had to rethink.

I picked up a porcelain pen in our local craft superstore. It was the correct blue but had a glitter finish.

image

I went over all the parts which were blue but now looked sepia.
The application wasn’t too great, the paint tended to retract into pools and I felt I had to reapply a huge amount. Eventually I felt it was as good as it was going to get, and so I set it aside for the 4 hours it advised on the pen before baking (this time @ 160°C for 30 minutes, again, as instructed on the packaging)

The Final Product

image

Now the mugs were completed, I set about filling them with tasty treats for a midnight feast!

image

image

Another handful of marshmallows, a presentation treat bag & a ribbon added the finishing touches….

image

image

Although the decorated mugs are no longer microwave or dishwasher safe, they should survive at least a few months of gentle hand washing.

I was quite pleased with the final result and hopefully the kids will like them!

Have you tried Sharpie Mugs yet? If so, how did yours turn out?

What’s your biggest Pinterest Fail (or success!)?

As always, thanks for stopping by!
Hugs,
The Crafty Lass
XXX

Leave a Reply

